e r i k a's blog

visit http://peacelifehappiness.blogspot.com/

leave a comment »

chicken-sandwich

There are a lot of strange people in the world. People who talk too much, people who don’t talk at all and people who talk to themselves. I ran and run into these people today and everyday and it made me wonder how strange I may seem to others. Whether I laugh weird, have a weird facial mannerism, or if I have any abnormal ticks that I don’t notice.

I ran into an old lady who was a volunteer in the elevator at cmc (my place of work), and as soon as she walked in she saw the food tray I was holding and thought it neccessary to announce every item of food on the tray. “Chicken sandwich!, Fruit cup!, Angel cake!, Apple Juice!” I wonder what the world would be like if everybody did this. I just smiled and said, “yeah, good stuff.” And continued on my way, laughing and shaking my head.

There’s this one old guy wally who works in my dept, and he has some of the funniest mannerisms of anyone i’ve met. First of all, he takes his job way too seriously. When he toasts toast, he literally stands and watches the toast until it reaches perfection. When he forgets an item on a food tray, he gets mad at himself and doesn’t forgive himself until about an hour later. When he gets really focused, he purses his lips continuously like a kissing motion until you interrupt his focus.  And when he’s going somewhere, he gets there, at an unbeleivable pace for a 67 year old. But he has become one of our workplace personalities, and we’re going to miss him when he retires this fall.

Another character, Billy, a supposed schizophrenic, will talk to himself probably all day because that’s what everyone hears when billy walks by. His endless conversation with himself. If you are having a conversation with somebody else he may skulk around in the backround and throw in a few aggreeable, “yeahs” and start talking to himself again. Good thing his voice is quiet or he’d be told to shut his pie hole more often. I think the quietness of his voice came from the strain of his vocal cords from the endless trail of speech. I wonder if he talks in his sleep?

I realize after all of this that i’d much rather run into a strange person than a standard, normal person because then, what would I have to wonder and write about? Like what weird things do I do? I know I talk in my sleep, need to crack my toes every 5 mins and I can’t have anything under my fingernails so I’m always picking at them. But Im sure everyone has a madness to them…right?

Written by erika

2009/07/25 at 1:33 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

